To access eBooks off-campus,you need an account with the McGaw Library.
If you have an account, follow these steps:
Environmental Encyclopedia by
Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by
Explores major topics related to global warming and climate change-ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes. Covers the science and history of climate change, the controversies over climate-change theories, the role of societies, the industrial and economic factors, and the sociological aspects of climate change.
Encyclopedia of Geography by
Reflects how the growth of geography has propelled a demand for intermediaries between the abstract language of academia and the ordinary language of everyday life. Covers a diverse array of topics to offer a comprehensive and useful summary of the state of the discipline in the early 21st century.
Rocks and Minerals by
The definitive guide to rocks and minerals, completely updated for the fifth edition, includes 385 color photographs showing rocks, minerals, and geologic formations. Hundreds of minerals are described, with details such as geographic formations. Hundreds of minerals are described, with details such as geographic distribution, physical properties, chemical composition, and crystalline structures.
Encyclopedia of Coastal Science by
This encyclopedia features contributions by 245 well-known international specialists in their respective fields and is abundantly illustrated with line-drawings and photographs. Not only does this volume offer an extensive number of entries, it also includes various appendices, an illustrated glossary of coastal morphology and extensive bibliographic listings.
The Oxford Companion to the Earth by
This reference work, offers coverage of the earth sciences, from volcanoes to flood plains, diamonds to meteors, deserts to deep seas. All aspects of geology, including climatology, mineralogy and oceanography, are covered.
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences by
'The Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences' covers geology and related areas including planetary science, volcanology palaeontology, and mineralogy. The new edition is thoroughly updated, with 150 new entries and numerous web links that are listed and regularly updated on a companion website.
A Dictionary of Weather by
A new, authoritative and comprehensive dictionary of weather, forecasting, and climate terms with illustrative examples of specific events and extremes. Weather records and climate data from around the world are given and key terms from the related fields of oceanography, hydrology, and climatology are also covered.
The Princeton Field Guide to Dinosaurs by
This up to date work covers the progression of dinosaurs, from their known beginnings to extinction.
The Princeton Field Guide to Prehistoric Mammals by
An up to date, attractively designed guide that outlines the evolution of mammals, the historical record of fossils, and the different classes.
Cambridge Illustrated Dictionary of Astronomy by
Around 1300 carefully selected and cross-referenced entries are complemented by hundreds of beautiful color illustrations, taken from space missions, the Hubble Space Telescope, and other major observatories on Earth and in space. A myriad of named astronomical objects, constellations, observatories and space missions are described in detail, as well as biographical sketches for 70 of the most luminous individuals in the history of astronomy and space science.
A Dictionary of Astronomy by
The revised second edition of this established dictionary contains over 4,300 up-to-date entries on all aspects of astronomy.
Encyclopedia of Space Science and Technology by
This encyclopedia outlines what astronomers know about the sun, planets, galaxy, and universe as well as the effect of the space environment on human and other biological systems. In addition, the resource provides an in-depth summary of the engineering involved in launching a rocket or satellite and the control systems involved on the ground, in orbit, or in deep space. Manufacturing in space from planetary and other resources is also discussed.
The Oxford Companion to Cosmology by
The Oxford Companion to Cosmology covers the ideas behind our current understanding of the universe, outlines some of the fundamental physics from which those ideas emerge, and discusses the many strands of observational evidence available to the modern cosmologist.
Space Exploration and Humanity - A Historical Encyclopedia by
A complete history of human endeavors in space, this book also moves beyond the traditional topics of human spaceflight, space technology, and space science to include political, social, cultural, and economic issues, and also commercial, civilian, and military applications.